Home             Join Vantage Today

Board of Directors

Tom Bates

Tom Bates has 40 years of operational experience in the oil and gas industry, having held executive leadership positions at several major energy companies. He previously served as Group President at Baker Hughes, Chief Executive Officer at Weatherford-Enterra, and President of the Anadrill division of Schlumberger. A current director of TETRA Technologies, Mr. Bates also has served as Chairman of the Board of Hercules Offshore, Inc. in addition to serving on several other public company energy-related boards. He also was Managing Director and then Senior Advisor at Lime Rock Partners, an energy-focused private equity investment firm. Mr. Bates has a doctorate in mechanical engineering from the University of Michigan. He is currently an Adjunct Professor and co-chair of the advisory board for the Energy MBA Program at the Neeley School of Business at Texas Christian University in Fort Worth. Mr. Bates serves as Chairman of the Board.

Matthew Bonanno

Matthew Bonanno joined York Capital Management in July 2010 and is a Partner of the Firm. Mr. Bonanno joined York from the Blackstone Group where he worked as an Associate focusing on restructuring, recapitalization and reorganization transactions. Prior to joining the Blackstone Group, Mr. Bonanno worked on financing and strategic transactions at News Corporation and as an Investment Banker at JP Morgan and Goldman Sachs. Mr. Bonanno is currently a member of the Board, in his capacity as a York employee, of Rever Offshore AS and all entities incorporated pursuant to York’s partnership with Costamare Inc. and Augustea Bunge Maritime. Mr. Bonanno received a B.A. in History from Georgetown University and an M.B.A in Finance from The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. Mr. Bonanno serves on the Board’s Compensation Committee.

Esa Ikaheimonen

Esa Ikaheimonen is the former Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Transocean Ltd. He previously served as Chief Executive Officer of Seadrill’s Asia Offshore Drilling subsidiary and Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Seadrill Ltd. Mr. Ikaheimonen previously served as Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Poyry PLC, a global consulting and engineering company. Prior to Poyry, he was employed by Royal Dutch Shell for almost 20 years where he held several senior positions including Regional Vice President Finance for Upstream in both Africa and the Middle-East, Finance and Commercial Director in Qatar, and Downstream Finance Director for Scandinavia. He has served on the board of directors of Transocean Partners, LLC, as Chairman of the Board, and as an independent director of Ahlstrom Plc where he served as Chairman of the Audit Committee. Mr. Ikaheimonen earned a Masters Degree in Law from the University of Turku in Finland, specializing in Tax Law and Tax Planning. Mr. Ikaheimonen serves as chairman of the Board’s Audit Committee.

Nils E. Larsen

Nils E. Larsen is a Senior Operating Adviser working with The Carlyle Group’s U.S. Equity Opportunities Fund. Prior to partnering with The Carlyle Group, Mr. Larsen served in a variety of senior executive positions with Tribune Company, including the President and Chief Executive Officer of Tribune Broadcasting and as Co-President of Tribune Company. Before joining Tribune Company, Mr. Larsen served as a Managing Director of Equity Group Investments, LLC focusing on investments in the media, transportation, energy, retail grocery and member loyalty and rewards sectors. Mr. Larsen started his career at CS First Boston where he focused on the capital requirements and derivative products needs of U.S. financial institutions and non-U.S. based entities. Mr. Larsen has significant governance experience in post-bankrupt entities. Mr. Larsen received his A.B. summa cum laude from Bowdoin College. Mr. Larsen serves on the Audit Committee of the Board.

Scott McCarty

Scott McCarty is a partner of Q Investments and has been with Q since 2002. Prior to his current position as manager of the venture capital, private equity, and distressed investment groups, he was a portfolio manager. Before joining Q Investments, Mr. McCarty was a captain in the United States Army and worked in the office of U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison. Mr. McCarty graduated with a BS from the United States Military Academy at West Point, where he was a Distinguished Cadet and recipient of the General Lee Donne Olvey Award, and earned an MBA from Harvard Business School. Mr. McCarty serves on the Board’s Compensation Committee.

L. Spencer Wells

L. Spencer Wells is a Founder and Partner of Drivetrain Advisors, a provider of fiduciary services to members of the alternative investment community, with a particular expertise in restructuring and turnarounds. Previously, he served as a senior advisor and partner with TPG Special Situations Partner where he helped manage a $2.5B portfolio of liquid and illiquid distressed credit investments employing a “distressed for control” investment strategy. Mr. Wells previously served as a Partner for Silverpoint Capital where he managed a $1.3B investment portfolio consisting primarily of stressed and distressed bank loans and bonds focusing on the Oil and Gas Exploration and Production, Oilfield Services, Power Generation, Financial Institutions and Chemicals industries, among others. He previously served as an Analyst on the Distressed Debt Desks at Union Bank of Switzerland, Deutsche Bank and Bankers Trust. Mr. Wells has served on numerous public and private company boards including Advanced Emissions Solutions, Inc., Syncora Guarantee, Ltd., and Affinion Group, Inc., among others. Mr. Wells received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Wesleyan University and his MBA from the Columbia Business School. Mr. Wells serves as chairman of the Board’s Compensation Committee.